Voting Open On World MMA Awards For 9th Annual Fighters

UFC Hall Of Famer BJ Penn Returns To Octagon Against Yair Rodriguez
January 4, 2017
MMA Community Reacts Strongly Towards Streep’s ‘MMA Not An Art’ Comment
January 11, 2017
Show all

Voting Open On World MMA Awards For 9th Annual Fighters

2016 was a great year for mixed martial arts in general, and to honor the achievements for people involved in the sport, some of the best fighters from all promotions have been included in the nominee lists. The list includes some of the biggest names off course, but there is one notable absence and that is Ronda Rousey. She had just one fight in 2016 on penultimate day of the year, and there was a category of most disappointing comeback fight of the year, she would have comfortably won that. However, the biggest winners of 2016 were Conor McGregor, Amanda Nunez, and Michael Bisping.

Here are the nominees in different categories in World MMA Awards 2016:

Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter of the Year

To be awarded for best contribution to the sport both inside and outside the ring or octagon.

  • Michael Bisping
  • Donald Cerrone
  • Cody Garbrandt
  • Conor McGregor
  • Stipe Miocic

Female Fighter of the Year

  • Cris Justino
  • Angela Hill
  • Joanna Jedrzejczyk
  • Angela Lee
  • Amanda Nunes

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

  • Yair Rodriguez
  • Cody Garbrandt
  • Dooho Choi
  • Derrick Lewis
  • Michael Page

International Fighter of the Year

  • Michael Bisping
  • Joanna Jedrzejczyk
  • Conor McGregor
  • Gegard Mousasi
  • Khabib Nurmagomedov

Fight of the Year

  • Robbie Lawler vs. Carlos Condit (UFC 195)
  • Cub Swanson vs. Dooho Choi (UFC 206)
  • Michael Bisping vs. Anderson Silva (UFC Fight Night 84)
  • Conor McGregor vs. Nate Diaz 2 (UFC 202)
  • Michael Chandler vs. Benson Henderson (Bellator 165)

Knockout of the Year

  • Anthony Johnson (vs. Glover Teixeira, UFC 202)
  • Lando Vannata (vs. John Makdessi, UFC 206)
  • Michael Page (vs. Evangelista Santos, Bellator 158)
  • Yair Rodriguez (vs. Andre Fili, UFC 197)
  • Michael Chandler (vs. Patricky Freire, Bellator 157)

Submission of the Year

  • Ben Rothwell (vs. Josh Barnett, UFC on FOX 18)
  • Nate Diaz (vs. Conor McGregor, UFC 196)
  • Miesha Tate (vs. Holly Holm, UFC 196
  • Mackenzie Dern (vs. Montana Stewart, Legacy FC 61)
  • Thiago Moises (vs. David Castillo, RFA 35)

Comeback of the Year

  • Michael Bisping (vs. Anderson Silva, UFC Fight Night 84)
  • Nate Diaz (vs. Conor McGregor, UFC 196)
  • Dan Henderson (vs. Hector Lombard, UFC 199)
  • Miesha Tate (vs. Holly Holm, UFC 196)
  • Dominick Cruz (career)

Upset of the Year

  • Michael Bisping (vs. Luke Rockhold, UFC 199)
  • Bryan Barberena (vs. Warlley Alves, UFC on FOX 18)
  • Joe Taimanglo (vs. Darrion Caldwell, Bellator 159)
  • Brandon Moreno (vs. Louis Smolka, UFC Fight Night 96)
  • Zac Riley (vs. Hugo Viana, RFA 34)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year

  • Jason Parillo
  • Din Thomas
  • John Kavanagh
  • Marcus Marinelli
  • Greg Jackson

Trainer of the Year

  • Jake Bonacci
  • Mike Dolce
  • Lawrence Herrera
  • Loren Landow
  • George Lockhart

Gym of the Year

  • American Top Team
  • SBG Ireland
  • Jackson Wink MMA Academy
  • American Kickboxing Academy
  • Team Alpha Male

Referee of the Year

  • Marc Goddard
  • Herb Dean
  • John McCarthy
  • Yves Lavigne
  • Leon Roberts

Ringcard Girl of the Year

  • Arianny Celeste
  • Brittney Palmer
  • Mercedes Terrell
  • Carly Baker
  • Jhenny Andrade

Leading Man

  • Dana White
  • Scott Coker
  • Victor Cui
  • Marc Ratner
  • Jeff Novitzky

Best Promotion

  • UFC
  • Bellator MMA
  • ONE Championship
  • KSW
  • Legacy FC

Personality of the Year

  • Joe Rogan
  • Jimmy Smith
  • Jon Anik
  • Matt Serra
  • Brendan Schaub

Analyst of the Year

  • Brian Stann
  • Dan Hardy
  • Robin Black
  • Chael Sonnen
  • Dominick Cruz

Best MMA Programming

  • ‘UFC Embedded’
  • ‘The Ultimate Fighter’
  • ‘Dana White: Lookin’ for a Fight’
  • ‘The MMA Hour’
  • ‘UFC Breakdown’

MMA Media Source of the Year

  • MMAjunkie
  • MMA Fighting
  • Bloody Elbow
  • Sherdog
  • FloCombat

MMA Journalist of the Year

  • Ariel Helwani
  • Shaun Al-Shatti
  • Brett Okamoto
  • Ben Fowlkes
  • Karim Zidan

Best MMA Clothing & Equipment Brand

  • Hayabusa
  • Bad Boy
  • Virus
  • Everlast
  • Venum

Vote for your favorite personality in various categories at worldmmaawards. The winners will be announced on March 2 at the Venetian Theatre in Las Vegas.

Find the latest fitness workouts and exercise guides and articles in one place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *